Press Release

Physics alumna elected as academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences


Professor Zheng Wanhua (3rd left, back row) and her PhD degree supervisor Professor Cheah Kok-wai (3rd right, back row), Chair Professor of the Department of Physics.

Professor Zheng Wanhua, a 1998 PhD graduate of the Department of Physics, has been elected as an academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).

Professor Zheng, a researcher from the Institute of Semiconductors at CAS, mainly carries out research into microstructure fabrication and semiconductor lasers. Her research work has also explored the area of high-performance photonic crystal lasers. She has overseen some significant breakthroughs in the field and made pioneering and systematic contributions in terms of basic principles and essential technologies.

She has received several national achievement awards, including the first prize of the State Scientific and Technological Progress Award in 2020, the gold medal of the China Patent Awards from the National Intellectual Property Administration in 2018, and the first prize of the Science and Technology Innovation Award from the Chinese Society for Optical Engineering in 2017.

Source: HKBU News