Distinguished Professor of Science

The Faculty of Science launched a Distinguished Professor of Science scheme in November 2014, with an aim of promoting knowledge exchanges culturally and academically between the professors and faculty members, and enhancing students' learning experience.

Under the scheme, the Faculty confers the honorary title of "Distinguished Professor of Science" on eight distinguished scholars in the areas of Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics from UK, Canada, USA, Japan and Mainland China.


Professor Donal D C Bradley

Director of Centre for Plastic Electronics
Imperial College, United Kingdom

Award Period: 2014/15-2017/18

Professor John P Giesy

Professor and Canada Research Chair in Environmental Toxicology
Department of Veterinary Biomedical Sciences and Toxicology Centre
University of Saskatchewan, Canada

Award Period: 2014/15- 2017/18

Professor Roland Glowinski

Cullen Professor of Mathematics
University of Houston, USA

Award Period: 2014/15-2017/18

Professor David G Lynn

Chairman of the Department of Chemistry
Emory University, USA

Award Period: 2014/15-2016/17

Professor Toru Ishida

Professor of the Department of Social Informatics
Kyoto University, Japan

Award Period: 2014/15-2016/17

Professor Ma Zhiming

Professor of the Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science
Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Award Period: 2014/15-2017/18

Professor Min Naiben

Professor of Physics
Nanjing University, China

Award Period: 2014/15-2016/17

Professor Zhu Shining

Dean of the School of Physics Nanjing University, China

Award Period: 2014/15-2016/17